MCU – Iron Man

It is pretty funny, really, when I first heard of Iron Man, I didn’t have any intention of watching the movie at all. In my mind I was like what kind of movie could it be like? A man with Iron suit. Obviously at the time as well I wasn’t familiar with Marvel comics as well as DC comics (I did mention that I live in the other side of the world). As I said on the introduction of this MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) series that my first Marvel movie was Spiderman, but I didn’t even know that Marvel made a lot of other superheroes either. Short stories, I got bored and was looking for a new movie to watch and after a couple years gone by I managed to get my hands on Iron Man – the first, and Iron Man 2.

Since the movie easily became my favourite, I will try my best to be objective about the review and do my best to explain the correlation between this movie as the start of the 21st century for all MCU.

Let’s talk about the first Iron Man. The movie was pretty much telling and showing us on how Tony Stark – Played by Robert Downey Jr. , became the Iron Man we know today. A bit of a story inside the movie is that (spoiler alert) Tony Stark a heir of Stark Industry of the previous owner Howard Stark is a weapon manufacturer. Basically Stark Industry selling weapons for the military defense. In the start of the story it shows that Tony was presenting his new missile in Afghanistan which leads to his downfall and captured by enemies. Despite being cornered, he managed to escape due to his genius brain in science – I would say especially in engineering. Before he was captured, he was hurt by a bomb which caused him has to use electromagnet in his chest to keep the shrapnel entering his heart.

Tony Stark introduces his new product
Tony Stark introduces his new product

When he got back to the US, he decided to shut down his weapons manufacture division because of what he saw that his own weapons that he made to defense the US military taken by the enemies and hurt his own people. Shortly, he did a lot of research, trial and errors to perfect his suit that he first made to escape the premises where he was captured. His late father’s partner was the culprit of this unauthorized selling to the enemy and when he found out they fought it out – apparently Obadiah (the partner) actually made a suit of his own, and the downside was the arc reactor to provide energy for the suit which then Tony managed to use for his iron man suit and later then Obadiah stole it from him to use on his own suit.

Philip Coulson was first seen in this movie to introduce an organisation for special / gifted people which he presented as Strategic Homeland Intervention Enforcement and Logistic Division which then shorten as S.H.I.E.L.D at the end of the movie. He helped Pepper Potts – Tony Stark personal assistant in the movie as well, and later gave a speech for Tony for the press and handled the destruction caused by the fight of Tony Stark and Obadiah while they were using their iron suits. Well, Tony Stark is known as a playboy, genius, philanthropic and i might say cocky billionaire, so at the end of the movie he blurted out that he is in fact Iron Man.

Tony Stark in Iron Man suit trying to take off the suit.
Tony Stark in Iron Man suit trying to take off the suit.

That was the first introduction of the whole Iron Man. I don’t like cocky people, I mean, who does? Despite he is being like that though, and he does sarcasm, I find it pretty cool, because he is not a dumb person who can just talk without any action. On the side note I believe his act is because of the lack of love that he couldn’t feel from his late father – it will be shown later on in Iron Man 2.

To be quite honest the show is wrap up pretty nicely, without many fillers. It shows the relationship between Tony and Pepper as well as the start of him being known to public and then discovered by S.H.I.E.L.D (not that its new for the organisation since it is then said that Howard Stark is one of the founder of S.H.I.E.L.D later on Iron Man 2). I like how Marvel showed some of the way Tony Stark work his journey to polish his suit in the movie. I think its brilliant. The technology of course a little outdated compare to Avengers or Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D , but considering it was 2008, the way they showed JARVIS tech that Tony made by himself is quite outstanding. Without form JARVIS is like a personal assistant robot to Tony that help him through a lot of stuffs in this particular movie, and they can understand each other. As for personal opinion although it shows the story of how Tony Stark became Iron man, the first few minutes of it I considered as a little bit boring – when Tony was captured in Afghanistan. I am not saying that the scene is not important, but being all high tech, sci-fi movie it was a little draggy, but good nevertheless.

I would give it 8.5 / 10 as for my personal review.

I believe the reason why they started Iron Man as the first of the MCU is because Howard Stark is one of the founder of S.H.I.E.L.D, has a lot to do with Tony being his son and all, especially when Tony shared Howard’s interest in engineering and have the brain capacity of being bigger than Howard was. I know that many of us think that Captain America should have been the first because he is the first superhuman in the MCU history, as well as it actually had a more older time frame – or even Thor because thats how the ‘Tesseract’ got into earth in the first place, but i supposed they didn’t want to focus as much on how it happened sequentially.

Howard Stark and Steve Rogers
Howard Stark and Steve Rogers

Anyway, Iron Man is the introduction for MCU followed by Hulk as well as Thor, because apparently he made it down to earth and then they flashback to Captain America, how he was made also to show HYDRA.

I wanted to make this section to discuss both Iron Man and Iron Man 2, but I supposed it’s gonna be pretty long now that I have talked quite a lot about it. So, I will end this section here, for now.

 

Leave a Reply

